This unusual landmark near the Naschmarkt in Vienna has
been voted the fourth most beautiful staircase in Europe.
Designed by Max Hegele and completed in 1907 after starting
work in 1905. Today it stands as a unique and classic
example of Art Nouveau design applied to a public place.
Renovated in the 1980s to bring it back to it's original
glory the staircase is now open to be enjoyed by all, it did
briefly house a cafe in the previously unused rear room
underneath the staircase but sadly this is now closed.
The staircase is named after the widow Anna Marie
Fillgrader who was well known in the area for her commitment
to charitable works.
Constructed of cast iron and stone, as was the common
materials at the time, the main features of the staircase
are the delicate lattice work typical of Art Nouveau,
carvings and positioning of lamps.
The Fillgraderstiege can be found near Mariahilferstrasse,
walk along Mariahilferstrasse for just two blocks from the
north of the car park at the west end of the Naschmarkt
Market. It is between Filigradergasse and Theobaldgasse in